أمراض المساريق والأوعية الدموية

ما هو مرض الأوعية الدموية المساريقي؟

تزود الشرايين المساريقية الدم إلى الأمعاء في البطن ويمكن أن تتأثر بالعديد من الأمراض التي يمكن أن تضر بتدفق الدم. يمكن أن تنشأ مضاعفات نتيجة تجلط الدم من القلب ، خاصةً في المرضى الذين يعانون من إيقاعات غير طبيعية في القلب (الرجفان الأذيني) ، أو تصلب الشرايين أو "تصلب الشرايين" مما يؤدي إلى انسداد الشرايين ، أو تمدد الأوعية الدموية حيث يكون الشريان ضعيفًا ومتسعًا ، أو تشريح حيث يوجد تمزق في جدار الوعاء الدموي يمكن أن يضر بتدفق الدم.

يعد انسداد الشرايين المساريقي المفاجئ حالة طبية طارئة تتطلب عناية فورية. قد يعاني المرضى من ألم شديد وإسهال وقيء. التعرف المبكر مهم لتجنب الغرغرينا في الأمعاء التي تتطلب جراحة كبيرة لإزالة الأمعاء. من غير المرجح أن يعيش المرضى الذين تم تشخيصهم متأخرين. استعادة تدفق الدم إلى الأمعاء أولوية لدى هؤلاء المرضى. يمكن إجراؤه باستخدام نهج الجراحة المفتوحة أو إجراء جراحة الأوعية الدموية الأقل بضعاً من خلال الفخذ.

يمكن أن يسبب انسداد تدريجي للشريان على مدى أشهر أو سنوات الألم المرتبط بالوجبات وفقدان الوزن والإسهال. المريض النموذجي هو مدخنة تبلغ من العمر 60 عامًا وعلى النقيض من مرضى السرطان ، لا يزال المرضى يشعرون بالجوع. السبب في أن المريض لا يأكل ، أو يأكل وجبات صغيرة جدًا ، يتعلق بالخوف من الألم الذي يأتي بعد الوجبة. هناك العديد من الأسباب البديلة لآلام البطن ويمكن للدكتور فريمان تقديم المشورة إذا كنت قد تستفيد من العلاج.

يمكن استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية لتحديد المرضى الذين يعانون من انسداد الشرايين المساريقية. إذا كان يعتقد أن هذا هو سبب آلام المرضى ، ولم يتم تحديد أي تفسير آخر على الرغم من الاختبارات المكثفة ، فإن العلاج يهدف إلى استعادة التدفق إلى الأمعاء. يمكن تحقيق ذلك مع تجاوز. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه الدعامات طفيفة التوغل (إدخال سقالة) حيث يتم إدخال سقالة لفتح الشريان المفضل لدى معظم المرضى. بعد الدعامات يحتاج المرضى إلى تناول الأسبرين ويجب أن يتركوا التدخين.

ما هو مرض الأوعية الدموية؟

يمكن أن يتسبب تصلب الشرايين أو "تصلب الشرايين" في تضييق الأوعية الكلوية التي تزود الكلى بالدم إلى مضاعفات كبيرة بما في ذلك فشل الكلى لدرجة أن المرضى يحتاجون إلى غسيل الكلى ، وارتفاع ضغط الدم الذي يصعب السيطرة عليه بشكل خاص. يمكن لفحص الموجات فوق الصوتية تحديد تضيق الشريان الكلوي. يمكن إدارة معظم المرضى بالأدوية بما في ذلك الأسبرين والأدوية لتقليل الكوليسترول وضغط الدم. يجب أن يتوقف المرضى الذين يدخنون.

تستفيد نسبة من المرضى من تحسين التدفق إلى الكلى عن طريق دعامة (سقالة) يتم توصيلها عبر الفخذ لفتح الشريان. ليس كل المرضى مناسبين للدعامات وعادة ما تكون هناك حاجة إلى اختبارات إضافية لتحديد المرضى الذين سيستفيدون. إذا فشلت الكلية تمامًا بالفعل ، فلن تتعافى مع الدعامات. يعاني المرضى من كليتين ، ويتطلب البعض دعامة الشرايين الكلوية. يتمتع الدكتور فريمان بخبرة في علاج المرضى المختارين بشكل مناسب مع الدعامات الكلوية.

يمكن أن تتأثر الشرايين الكلوية بتمدد الأوعية الدموية حيث يضعف الجدار ويتوسع الشريان بحيث يكون أكبر من الطبيعي. أمهات الشرايين الكلوية نادرة وخطر التمزق منخفض عندما تكون صغيرة. يحتاج معظم المرضى ببساطة إلى مراقبة بالموجات فوق الصوتية. قد تتطلب تمدد الأوعية الدموية الكبيرة العلاج الذي عادة ما يتم في هذه الأيام من خلال إجراء جراحة الأوعية الدموية الأقل بضعاً من خلال الفخذ. يمكن للدكتور فريمان أن يناقش معك الخيارات المتاحة للعلاج.

توفر Sydney Vascular Ultrasound التصوير التشخيصي المتخصص للأوعية الدموية والوريد في Burwood و Bankstown و Liverpool.

Mesenteric & Renovascular Disease

What is mesenteric vascular disease?

The mesenteric arteries supply blood to the bowel in the abdomen and can be affected by several diseases that can compromise blood flow. Complications can arise as a result of blood clots from the heart, especially in patients with abnormal heart rhythms (atrial fibrillation), atherosclerosis or “hardening of the arteries” causing blockage of the arteries, aneurysm where the artery is weak and dilated, or a dissection where there is a tear in the vessel wall that can compromise blood flow.

Sudden blockage of the mesenteric arteries is a medical emergency that requires immediate attention. Patients may experience severe pain, diarrhoea and vomiting. Early recognition is important to avoid gangrene of the bowel requiring major surgery in order to remove the bowel. Patients diagnosed too late are unlikely to survive. Restoring blood flow to the bowel is a priority in these patients. It can be performed using either an open surgery approach or a minimally invasive endovascular procedure through the groin.

More gradual blockage of the artery over a period of months or years can cause pain associated with meals, weight loss and diarrhoea. The typical patient is a female smoker around the age of 60 years old and in contrast to patients with cancer, patients still feel hungry. The reason that the patient doesn’t eat, or eats only very small meals, relates to fear of the pain that comes after the meal. There are several alternative causes for abdominal pain and Dr Freeman can advise if you may benefit from treatment.

Ultrasound can be used to identify patients with blocked mesenteric arteries. Should this be thought to be the cause of a patients’ pain, and no other explanation has been identified despite extensive testing, treatment is aimed at restoring flow to the bowel. This can be achieved with a bypass. However, these days minimally invasive stenting (inserting a scaffold) where a scaffold is inserted to open the artery is preferred in most patients. After stenting patients need to be on aspirin and should quit smoking.

What is renovascular disease?

Atherosclerosis or “hardening of the arteries” narrowing the renal vessels that supply blood to the kidneys can cause significant complications including failure of the kidneys to the point that patients require dialysis, and high blood pressure that can be especially difficult to control. Ultrasound scanning can identify renal artery narrowing. Most patients can be managed with medication including aspirin and drugs to reduce cholesterol and blood pressure. Patients who smoke should stop.

A proportion of patients benefit from improving flow to the kidneys by way of a stent (a scaffold) that is delivered through the groin to open the artery. Not all patients are appropriate for stenting and additional tests are usually required to identify which patients will benefit. If a kidney has already completely failed, it will not recover with stenting. Patients have two kidneys, and some require stenting of both renal arteries. Dr Freeman is experienced in treating appropriately selected patients with renal stents.

The renal arteries can also be affected by an aneurysm where the wall is weakened and the artery dilates so that it is larger than normal. Renal artery aneurysms are rare and the risk of rupture is low when they are small. Most patients simply require surveillance with ultrasound. Larger aneurysms may warrant treatment which these days is usually through a minimally invasive endovascular procedure through the groin. Dr Freeman can discuss with you what the options are for treatment.

Sydney Vascular Ultrasound provides specialised vascular and venous diagnostic imaging in Burwood, Bankstown and Liverpool.