تقرحات الساق

ما هي تقرحات الساق؟

القرحة هي جروح بطيئة الشفاء أو لا تلتئم. أنها تنطوي على فقدان الجلد والأنسجة على الساقين أو القدمين وغالبا ما تتعلق مشاكل الأوعية الدموية حيث تكون الدورة الدموية عرضة للخطر. يرتبط السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لتقرحات الساق بالمرض الوريدي حيث لا تعمل الأوردة بشكل صحيح لإعادة الدم إلى القلب من القدمين. يمكن أن تحدث القرح بسبب انسداد الشرايين (مرض الشرايين المحيطية). المرضى الذين يعانون من مرض السكري وتلف الأعصاب (الاعتلال العصبي) هم أيضًا عرضة بشكل خاص للإصابة بالقرح.

غالبًا ما لا تكون الضمادات والمضادات الحيوية كافية لشفاء القرحة. قد يساعد التقييم الشامل للدورة الدموية والعلاج لمعالجة السبب الكامن للقرحة في الشفاء في المرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل وريدية وشرايين. يحتاج المرضى الذين يعانون من تلف الأعصاب السكري (الاعتلال العصبي) أيضًا إلى تخفيف الضغط من المنطقة. يتمتع الدكتور فريمان بخبرة واسعة في جميع أسباب تقرح الساق والقدم ويمكنه تقديم علاجات للمساعدة في التئام القرحة.

ما هو القصور الوريدي؟

السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لتقرحات الساق يتعلق بالمرض الوريدي. هذا عندما لا تعمل الأوردة بشكل صحيح لأخذ الدم من الساق إلى القلب. يرتفع الضغط ويتسرب السوائل من الأوردة. يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك في البداية إلى التورم. يتطور هذا إلى إحداث تغييرات في الجلد مثل التصبغ والتهاب الجلد. أخيرًا ، يمكن أن ينكسر الجلد مما يتسبب في جرح لا يلتئم. قد تتسبب القروح الوريدية في إصابة في الساق ، بما في ذلك الصدمة الطفيفة نسبيًا. يمكن أن تكون مؤلمة ويمكن أن تصاب بالعدوى.

ماذا أفعل إذا كنت أعاني من قرحة وريدية؟

سيتم إجراء تقييم شامل بما في ذلك تاريخ مفصل من المريض فيما يتعلق بقرحة ، وهذا يشمل أي مشاكل طبية لديك والأدوية التي تتناولها. يتم تقييم المرضى بدراسات الموجات فوق الصوتية لفحص الدورة الدموية وخاصة مدى المرض الوريدي الذي يشمل الأوردة السطحية والعميقة. قد تحتاج إلى قياس الضغوط في الساق ومقارنتها مع الذراع. من الأفضل إجراء هذه الاختبارات بواسطة أخصائي الموجات فوق الصوتية الوعائي المتخصص في تقييم مرضى القرحة.

ما هو علاج التقرحات الوريدية؟

يحتاج المرضى الذين يعانون من القرحة الوريدية إلى ضمادات منتظمة. إذا كانت القرحة ملتهبة ، سيحتاج المرضى إلى علاج بالمضادات الحيوية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بعد إجراء تقييم متخصص ، قد يكون بعض المرضى مناسبين لتضميد الضغط متعدد الطبقات الرسمي من أصابع القدم إلى الركبة. يجب أن يتم تطبيق هذا من قبل ممرضة من ذوي الخبرة وتترك الضمادات سليمة حتى تعود الممرضة إلى تغيير الضمادة وإعادة تطبيقها. يتم تحديد مستوى الضغط من قبل أخصائي ويجب على المرضى المتابعة مع الأخصائي للتأكد من تطبيق الضمادات بشكل مناسب.

كم من الوقت سأحتاج إلى ضغط؟

عادة ما تكون ضمادات الضغط مطلوبة لعدة أسابيع. بمجرد شفاء القرحة ، سيتم تحويل المرضى إلى ارتداء جوارب ضغط لمنع القرحات من العودة. من المهم أن يتم قياس المرضى بشكل فردي لهذه الجوارب. ستحتاج الجوارب إلى استبدالها عندما تتدهور المرونة لأنها تصبح أقل فعالية في منع القرحة من العودة. يجب ارتداء الجوارب أثناء النهار ولكن يمكن خلعها في الليل.

هل هناك بدائل لارتداء جوارب طويلة الأمد؟

يتم تشجيع المرضى الذين يعانون من القرحة المرتبطة بالمرض الوريدي على أن يكونوا نشطين. يساعد المشي المنتظم على تعزيز الدورة الدموية ويمكن أن يساعد في التئام القرحة. قد يكون بعض المرضى مناسبين أيضًا للإجراءات التي تهدف إلى إصلاح الأوردة المريضة. تتضمن هذه العلاجات ليزر الأوردة الارتجاعية أو الدعامات (إدخال سقالة صغيرة في) أوردة الحوض المسدودة. قد تستفيد أيضًا نسبة من المرضى من الجراحة المفتوحة. يمكن للدكتور فريمان تحديد المرضى المناسبين لهذه العلاجات وذوي الخبرة في تنفيذها.

توفر Sydney Vascular Ultrasound التصوير التشخيصي المتخصص للأوعية الدموية والوريد في Burwood و Bankstown و Liverpool.

Leg Ulcers

What are leg ulcers?

Ulcers are wounds that are slow to heal or do not heal. They involve loss of skin and tissue on the legs or feet and often relate to vascular problems where the circulation is compromised. The most common cause of leg ulceration relates to venous disease where the veins do not work properly to take blood back up to the heart from the feet.  Ulcers can also be caused by blocked arteries (peripheral arterial disease). Patients with diabetes and nerve damage (neuropathy) are also particularly prone to developing ulcers.

Dressings and antibiotics are often not enough to heal ulcers. A thorough assessment of the circulation and treatment to address the underlying cause of the ulcer may assist with healing in patients with both venous and arterial problems. Patients with diabetic nerve damage (neuropathy) also require relief of pressure from the area. Dr Freeman has extensive experience with all these causes of leg and foot ulceration and can provide treatments to assist with ulcer healing.

What is venous insufficiency?

The most common cause of leg ulceration relates to venous disease.  This is when the veins do not function properly to take blood from the leg back up to the heart.  The pressure rises and fluid leaks out of the veins.  This can initially cause swelling.  This progresses to causing skin changes such as pigmentation and dermatitis.  Finally, the skin can break down causing a wound that does not heal.  Venous ulcers may be precipitated by an injury to the leg, including relatively minor trauma. They can be painful and can become infected.

What should I do if I have a venous ulcer?

A comprehensive assessment will be performed including a detailed history from the patient regarding their ulcer, this includes any medical problems you have and medications you are on.  Patients are assessed with ultrasound studies to examine the circulation and particularly the extent of venous disease involving the superficial and deep veins.  The pressures may need to be measured in the leg and compared to the arm.  These tests are best performed by a specialist vascular sonographer experienced in the assessment of patients with ulcers.

What is the treatment for venous ulceration?

Patients with venous ulcers need regular dressings.  If the ulcer is infected, patients will require antibiotic treatment.  In addition, following a specialist assessment some patients may be appropriate for formal multi-layer compression bandaging from the toes to the knee.  This needs to be applied by an experienced nurse and the bandages left intact until the nurse returns to change and reapply the bandaging.  The level of compression is determined by a Specialist and patients need to follow up with the specialist to ensure that the bandages are being appropriately applied.

How long will I need compression for?

Compression bandages are usually needed for several weeks.  Once the ulcers are healed patients will then be transitioned to wearing a compression stocking in order to prevent the ulcers from returning.  It is important that patients are individually measured up for these stockings. Stockings will need to be replaced when the elastic deteriorates as they become less effective in preventing the ulcers from returning.  Stockings need to be worn during the day but can be taken off at night.

Are there any alternatives to wearing long-term stockings?

Patients with ulcers related to venous disease are encouraged to be active.  Regular walking helps promote circulation and can assist with ulcer healing. Some patients may also be suitable for procedures aimed at repairing the diseased veins.  These treatments include laser of the refluxing veins or stenting (inserting a small scaffold into) blocked pelvic veins.  A proportion of patients might also benefit from open surgery.  Dr Freeman can determine which patients are suitable for these treatments and is experienced in performing them.

Sydney Vascular Ultrasound provides specialised vascular and venous diagnostic imaging in Burwood, Bankstown and Liverpool.