الإجراءات طفيفة التوغل

يتمتع الدكتور فريمان بخبرة واسعة في إجراء عمليات الأوعية الدموية الأقل بضعاً في المرضى المختارين بشكل مناسب. تسمح الإجراءات الأقل بضعاً للجراح باستخدام التقنيات التي تحد من حجم وعدد الشقوق (الجروح) التي يحتاجون إليها للوصول إلى الشرايين والأوردة. عادةً ما يعتبر أكثر أمانًا من الجراحة المفتوحة وعادة ما تتعافى بسرعة أكبر ، وتقضي وقتًا أقل في المستشفى ، وتشعر براحة أكبر أثناء التعافي.

في حين أن هذه الإجراءات تنطوي على مخاطر أقل من جراحة الأوعية الدموية المفتوحة ، فإن جميع الإجراءات تحمل بعض المخاطر. المعلومات المقدمة هنا هي لأغراض تعليمية عامة فقط. يرجى مناقشة مع الدكتور فريمان ما إذا كان إجراء الأوعية الدموية طفيفة التوغل مناسبًا لعلاج حالتك الفردية.

ما هو إصلاح تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري (EVAR)؟

في هذه الأيام ، يمكن إصلاح معظم تمدد الأوعية الدموية باستخدام جراحة ثقب المفتاح عبر الأربية. وهذا ما يسمى إصلاح تمدد الأوعية الدموية داخل الأوعية الدموية (EVAR). يتم استخدام الدعامات لإعادة تفريغ الأبهر وحماية جدار الأبهر من التمزق. إصلاح تمدد الأوعية الدموية داخل الأوعية الدموية فعال وآمن في المرضى المختارين الذين لديهم مخاطر أقل من الجراحة المفتوحة. ومع ذلك ، لا تزال عملية كبيرة يتم إجراؤها تحت التخدير العام في المستشفى. قد تشمل المضاعفات إصابة الكلى وشرايين الفخذ المستخدمة للوصول إلى تمدد الأوعية الدموية ، وقد تتطور العدوى أو تسرب حول الدعامات المستخدمة لعلاج تمدد الأوعية الدموية. في بعض الحالات قد يحتاج المرضى إلى إجراءات إضافية.

ما هو رأب الوعاء المحيطي والدعامات؟

تطوير جراحة ثقب المفتاح طفيفة التوغل (جراحة الأوعية الدموية) من خلال الفخذ يعيد تدفق الدم من خلال رأب الوعاء ، حيث يتم استخدام البالونات لفتح الشرايين ، والدعامة ، حيث يتم استخدام سقالة لإبقاء الشرايين مفتوحة. تعتمد ملاءمة المرضى لجراحة الأوعية الدموية على فحص مفصل للشرايين باستخدام تصوير الأوعية الدموية حيث يتم حقن الصبغة في الشرايين. يمكن أن تحدث مضاعفات بما في ذلك تلف شرايين الفخذ التي يتم الوصول إليها أثناء العملية وتلف الكلى الناتج عن الصبغة. الإجراء يتطلب التعرض للإشعاع.

ما هي دعامات الشريان السباتي؟

كبديل لاستئصال باطنة الشريان السباتي (جراحة لتنظيف الشريان في الرقبة) ، الدعامات هي إجراء أحدث ينطوي على وضع سقالة عبر الضيق في الشريان السباتي في الرقبة من أجل منع السكتة الدماغية. يتم تحت تأثير مخدر موضعي من خلال الفخذ. بالإضافة إلى السكتة الدماغية ، تشمل مضاعفات الدعامات تلف الشريان في الفخذ المستخدم لوضع الدعامة. ليس كل المرضى مناسبين للدعامات. بالإضافة إلى الموجات فوق الصوتية ، يلزم إجراء المزيد من الاختبارات عادةً لتحديد ما إذا كانت الدعامات بديلًا معقولًا أم لا.

ما هي دعامات الشريان المساريقي والكلوي؟

قد يحتاج المرضى الذين يعانون من انسداد الشرايين المساريقية التي تغذي الأمعاء والشرايين الكلوية المسدودة التي تمد الكلى بالدم إلى استعادة تدفق الدم. يمكن تحقيق ذلك عن طريق الدعامات حيث يتم إدخال سقالة تحت توجيه تصوير الأوعية الدموية لفتح الشريان وإزالة الانسداد. لا يحتاج جميع المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض المساريقي أو الأوعية الدموية إلى دعامة. يحتاج المرضى بعد استخدام الدعامة إلى تناول الأسبرين (دواء لتخفيف الدم) ويجب على المدخنين الإقلاع عن التدخين أو طلب المساعدة من طبيبك.

ما هي صيانة الوصول لغسيل الكلى؟

قد يعاني النواسير الشريانية الوريدية المستخدمة لغسيل الكلى من مشاكل قد تتطلب المزيد من العلاج أو الجراحة. يمكن أن يطوروا ضيقًا قد يحد من تدفق الدم وقد يعيق النواسير. تُستخدم المراقبة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتحديد المضاعفات مبكرًا حتى يمكن معالجتها والحفاظ على تدفق الناسور. يتم ذلك تحت التخدير الموضعي باستخدام رأب الوعاء ، حيث يتم استخدام البالونات لفتح الناسور ، والدعامة ، حيث يتم استخدام سقالة لإبقاء الناسور مفتوحًا.

ما هو استئصال الودي الصدري؟

في المرضى الذين يعانون من فرط التعرق (التعرق المفرط) ، تعد عملية قطع الأعصاب مباشرة في الصدر المسؤولة عن تنشيط الغدد العرقية في حفر اليد والذراع (استئصال الودي الصدري) حلاً دائمًا للمرضى. مع أي إجراء تأتي المخاطر ، يمكن أن تشمل التعرق الزائد في مكان آخر (فرط التعرق التعويضي) ، والهواء في الصدر (استرواح الصدر) ، والنزيف والتلف غير المقصود للأعصاب الأخرى.

ما هو العلاج بالليزر داخل الوريد للدوالي أو القرحة الوريدية؟

كبديل للتشريح الجراحي للأوردة ، يمكن إدارة معظم المرضى الذين يعانون من الدوالي أو القرح الوريدية هذه الأيام عن طريق العلاج بالليزر داخل الوريد. يتم وضع الليزر في الوريد المصاب تحت توجيه الموجات فوق الصوتية ويتم تنشيطه لإغلاق الوريد لأسفل. يتم تدمير الوريد بشكل فعال وعندما يختفي الوريد يختفي. هذا له ميزة على تجريده الجراحي من كونه أقل عدوانية. يتم تجنب قطع في الفخذ ، ويكون الإجراء أقل إيلامًا من الجراحة ويعود المرضى إلى النشاط الطبيعي بعد فترة أقصر.

هل يمكن استخدام الغراء لعلاج الدوالي؟

العلاج الأكثر حداثة لدوالي الأوردة التي أصبحت متاحة هو الغراء (cyanoacrylate). يمكن القيام بذلك في غرف العيادة تحت التخدير الموضعي. كما هو الحال مع العلاج بالليزر والحقن ، فهو يمكن أن يدخل إلى النشاط الطبيعي على الفور تقريبًا ، ولكن ليس كل المرضى مناسبين للغراء. هذا يعتمد إلى حد كبير على نتائج الموجات فوق الصوتية للمريض فيما إذا كان هذا العلاج مناسبًا. مثل الاستئصال بالليزر ، قد يحتاج بعض المرضى إلى علاج صلب إضافي.

ما هو العلاج بالتصليب بالحقن في الدوالي؟

يتضمن العلاج بالتصليب بالحقن حقن الوريد بمصلب (محلول مهيج) لإغلاق الوريد. يتسبب محلول العلاج بالتصليب في ندب الوريد ، مما يجبر الدم على إعادة التوجيه عبر الأوردة الصحية. يتم إعادة امتصاص الوريد المنهار في الأنسجة المحلية ويتلاشى في النهاية. يتم إجراء العلاج بالتصليب بالحقن في غرف العيادة ويتم إجراؤه أحيانًا تحت الموجات فوق الصوتية. سيحتاج المرضى إلى ارتداء جوارب ضغط على ساقهم لفترة بعد العملية ولكن يمكنهم المشي والقيادة والعودة بشكل أساسي إلى النشاط الطبيعي فورًا بعد الإجراء. قد يعاني المرضى من وجع وتكتل في مواقع الحقن التي تستقر عادةً بمرور الوقت ويصاب بعض المرضى بتلطيخ قد ينتج عن حبس الدم بعد الحقن. قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى علاجات متعددة لتحقيق النتائج التي تتوقعها.

ما هو انحلال الجلطات لجلطة عميقة؟

يعاني بعض المرضى الذين يعانون من تجلط الأوردة العميقة من تورم ساق شديد بشكل خاص. قد يكون المرضى الذين يطورون هذا مناسبًا لإجراء يتم فيه إدخال القسطرة لتوصيل دواء مباشر لإذابة الجلطة إلى جلطة الأوردة العميقة (انحلال الخثرة). يمكن أن يساعد الجهاز الميكانيكي أيضًا في إزالة الجلطة مباشرة من الأوردة العميقة. هذه الإجراءات تنطوي على بعض المخاطر ، وخاصة النزيف ، وليس كل المرضى مناسبين لهذا العلاج ، يمكن للدكتور فريمان تقديم المشورة لك بشأن أفضل خيارات العلاج.

ما هي مرشحات الوريد كافا؟

يحتاج بعض المرضى إلى إدخال مرشح بين جلطة الأوردة العميقة والرئتين من أجل منع الجلطة من السفر إلى الرئتين. يتم وضع هذا الفلتر في الوريد الأجوف ، الوريد الرئيسي في البطن. هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص في المرضى الذين لا يستطيعون الحصول على دواء ترقق الدم أو يكون فيه دواء ترقق الدم غير فعال. يمكن للمرضى المناسبين لمرشح الوريد الأجوف إزالة الفلتر بمجرد عدم الحاجة إليه.

ما هو انسداد وريد المبيض؟

في المرضى الذين يعانون من متلازمة احتقان الحوض يمكن أن يكون ارتجاع وريد المبيض مسؤولاً عن ألم الحوض وثقله. لتقليل الضغط في ملف انصمام وريد المبيض في الحوض ، يتم استخدام هذا الدواء لوقف ارتجاع الدم إلى الحوض مرة أخرى مما يمكّن المرضى من التخلص من آلامهم. فورًا بعد الإجراء ، قد يشعر الألم بالسوء ، ويستقر هذا عادةً على مدار أيام. تتم العملية تحت تأثير مخدر موضعي من خلال الفخذ ويعود المرضى إلى منازلهم في نفس اليوم.

Minimally Invasive Procedures

Dr Freeman has extensive experience in performing minimally invasive vascular procedures in appropriately selected patients. Minimally invasive procedures allows your surgeon to use techniques that limit the size and number of incisions (cuts), that they need to make to access arteries and veins. It’s typically considered safer than open surgery and you’ll usually recover more quickly, spend less time in the hospital, and feel more comfortable while you heal.

While these procedures potentially carry less risk than open vascular surgery, all procedures carry some risk. The information provided here is for general educational purposes only. Please discuss with Dr Freeman whether a minimally invasive vascular procedure is appropriate to treat your individual condition.

What is aortic endovascular aneurysm repair (EVAR)?

These days most aneurysms can be repaired using keyhole surgery through the groins. This is called endovascular aneurysm repair (EVAR). Stents are used to reline the aorta and protect the aortic wall from rupture.  Endovascular aneurysm repair is effective and safe in selected patients with fewer risks than open surgery. It is still however a major operation performed under general anaesthesia in hospital. Complications may include injury to the kidneys, groin arteries used to access the aneurysm, infection or a leak can develop around the stents used to treat the aneurysm. In some cases  patients may require additional procedures.

What is peripheral angioplasty and stenting?

The development of minimally invasive keyhole surgery (endovascular surgery) through the groin restores blood flow through angioplasty, where balloons are used to open the arteries, and stenting, where a scaffold is used to hold arteries open. A patients’ suitability for endovascular surgery depends on a detailed examination of the arteries using angiography where dye is injected into the arteries. Complications can occur including damage to the groin arteries accessed during the procedure and kidney damage from the dye. The procedure requires exposure to radiation.

What is carotid artery stenting?

As an alternative to carotid endarterectomy (surgery to clean out the artery in the neck), stenting is a newer procedure that involves placing a scaffold across the narrowing in the carotid artery in the neck in order to prevent stroke. It is carried out under local anaesthetic through the groin. In addition to stroke, complications of stenting include damage to the artery in the groin used to place the stent. Not all patients are suitable for stenting. In addition to ultrasound further testing is usually required to determine if stenting is a reasonable alternative.

What is mesenteric and renal artery stenting?

Patients with blocked mesenteric arteries supplying blood to the bowel and blocked renal arteries supplying blood to the kidneys may require the blood flow to be restored. This can be achieved with stenting where a scaffold is inserted under angiography guidance to open the artery and clear the blockage. Not all patients with mesenteric or renovascular disease require a stent. After stenting patients need to be on aspirin (a blood thinning medication) and smokers should quit or seek help from your GP.

What is dialysis access maintenance?

Arteriovenous fistulas used for dialysis can have problems that may require further treatment or surgery. They can develop narrowing that may limit blood flow and fistulas may block. Ultrasound surveillance is used to identify complications early so that they can be addressed, and the fistula flow maintained. This is done under local anaesthetic using angioplasty, where balloons are used to open the fistula, and stenting, where a scaffold is used to hold the fistula open.

What is thoracoscopic sympathectomy?

In patients with hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating), an operation to directly cut the nerves in the chest responsible for activation of the sweat glands in the hand and arm pits (thoracoscopic sympathectomy) is a permanent solution for patients. With any procedure comes risks, these can include excess sweating elsewhere (compensatory hyperhidrosis), air in the chest (pneumothorax), bleeding and inadvertent damage to other nerves.

What is endovenous laser treatment for varicose veins or venous ulcers?

As an alternative to surgical stripping of the veins, most patients with varicose veins or venous ulcers can be managed these days with endovenous laser treatment.  A laser is placed into the diseased vein under ultrasound guidance and activated to shut the vein down. The vein is effectively destroyed and as it heals the vein disappears. This has the advantage over surgical stripping of being less invasive.  A cut in the groin is avoided, the procedure is less painful than surgery and patients return to normal activity after a shorter period.

Can glue be used to treat varicose veins?

A more recent treatment for varicose veins that has become available is glue (cyanoacrylate).  This can be performed in clinic rooms under local anaesthetic.  Like laser and injection treatment it is minimally invasive and patients can return to normal activity almost immediately,  however not all patients are suitable for glue. This is largely dependent on a patient’s ultrasound findings as to whether this is an appropriate treatment. Like laser ablation some patients may require supplementary sclerotherapy.

What is injection sclerotherapy for varicose veins?

Injection sclerotherapy involves injecting the vein with a sclerosant (an irritant solution) in order to shut the vein down. The sclerotherapy solution causes the vein to scar, forcing blood to reroute through healthier veins. The collapsed vein is reabsorbed into local tissue and eventually fades. Injection sclerotherapy is performed in the clinic rooms and is sometimes performed under ultrasound. Patients will need to wear a compression stocking on their leg for a period after the procedure but can walk, drive and essentially return to normal activity immediately following the procedure. Patients may experience soreness and lumps at the injection sites which usually settles over time and some patients develop staining which may result from trapped blood following injections. Multiple treatments may be required to achieve the results you are expecting.

What is thrombolysis for deep vein thrombosis?

Some patients with deep vein thrombosis develop an especially severe swollen leg.  The patients that develop this may be appropriate for a procedure where a catheter is inserted to deliver direct clot-dissolving medication to the deep vein thrombosis (thrombolysis). A mechanical device can also assist in directly removing the clot from the deep veins. These procedures do carry some risks, particularly bleeding, and not all patients are suitable for this treatment, Dr Freeman can advise you on the best treatment options.

What are vena cava filters?

Some patients require insertion of a filter between a deep vein thrombosis and the lungs in order to stop clot travelling to the lungs. This filter is placed in the vena cava, the main vein in the abdomen.  This is especially the case in patients who cannot have blood thinning medication or in whom the blood thinning medication is ineffective. Patients suitable for a vena cava filter can have the filter removed once it is no longer required.

What is ovarian vein embolization?

In patients with pelvic congestion syndrome ovarian vein reflux can be responsible for pelvic pain and heaviness. To reduce the pressure in the pelvis ovarian vein coil embolization is used to stop the blood refluxing back down into the pelvis enabling patients to get relief from their pain.  Immediately after the procedure the pain may feel worse, this normally settles over a period of days.  The procedure is done under local anaesthetic through the groin and patients go home on the same day.