جراحة الأوعية الدموية المفتوحة

يتمتع الدكتور فريمان بخبرة واسعة في إجراء جراحة الأوعية الدموية المفتوحة في المرضى المختارين بشكل مناسب. تحمل جميع العمليات الجراحية بعض المخاطر ولكن المعلومات المقدمة هنا هي لأغراض تعليمية عامة فقط. سيناقش الدكتور فريمان في كل حالة على حدة على حدة ما إذا كانت جراحة الأوعية الدموية المفتوحة مناسبة لعلاج حالتك الخاصة والمخاطر التي تنطوي عليها.

ما هو استئصال باطنة الشريان السباتي؟

يستفيد بعض المرضى من الجراحة لتنظيف الشريان السباتي في الرقبة (استئصال باطنة الشريان السباتي) لمنع السكتة الدماغية. يعتمد قرار إجراء الجراحة على عدة عوامل بما في ذلك درجة الضيق وما إذا كان المريض يعاني من أعراض. تحمل جراحة الشرايين السباتية خطر التسبب في السكتة الدماغية. يجب موازنة ذلك مع خطر السكتة الدماغية بدون جراحة والتي تكون عالية بشكل خاص في المرضى الذين عانوا بالفعل من تلف في الدماغ. تحمل الجراحة أيضًا خطر إصابة الأعصاب التي تتحكم في اللسان والكلام والبلع. عادة ما تتعافى هذه الأعصاب. هناك أيضًا خطر النزيف ، خاصة وأن المرضى يحتاجون إلى الاستمرار في تناول الأسبرين في وقت الجراحة تقريبًا. نادرًا ما تحدث العدوى ويصعب التحكم في ضغط الدم لدى بعض المرضى بعد الجراحة.

ما هو إصلاح تمدد الأوعية الدموية الجراحية؟

في الماضي تم إصلاح جميع تمدد الأوعية الدموية عن طريق الجراحة المفتوحة من خلال شق كبير في البطن. يتضمن هذا خياطة طعم مباشر للمريض لاستبدال تمدد الأوعية الدموية. هذا يحمل معه مخاطر. كما هو الحال مع أي عملية جراحية ونادراً ما تحدث جلطات الدم. يتلقى المرضى الأدوية للمساعدة في منع هذه المضاعفات. يتم الضغط على القلب لذلك يمكن أن تحدث النوبة القلبية خاصة في المرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل في القلب. يمكن أن يحدث تلف في الكلى. في حالات نادرة جدًا ، قد لا ينجو شخص من الإجراء بسبب المضاعفات.

ما هو تجاوز لأمراض الشرايين الطرفية؟

عادةً ما تنطوي جراحة أمراض الشرايين الطرفية على تجاوز جراحي للأوعية الدموية مفتوح لاستعادة التدفق خارج الشرايين المسدودة في الساقين. تجاوز هو إجراء رئيسي. يجب النظر بعناية فيما يتعلق بالمخاطر مقابل الفوائد. يمكن أن تكون هناك مشاكل في العدوى والجروح وتطور الجلطات الدموية والقلب والرئتين والممرات الجانبية يمكن أن تسد نفسها خاصةً في المرضى الذين يواصلون التدخين.

ما هو الناسور الشرياني الوريدي؟

من الأفضل تقديم المرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى غسيل الكلى على المدى الطويل مع الناسور الشرياني الوريدي. يتم إنشاء هذه جراحيًا من خلال ربط شريان في الوريد ، عادة عند الرسغ أو الكوع. بعد العملية وعلى مدى فترة من 6 إلى 12 أسبوعًا ، يزداد تدفق الدم عبر الناسور إلى النقطة التي يكون فيها تدفقًا كافيًا لدعم غسيل الكلى. وبمجرد حدوث ذلك ، يمكن الوصول إلى الناسور بإبر من خلال الجلد وداخل الوريد. ثم يتم أخذ الدم من وإلى الكلية الاصطناعية.

ما هو الضغط في المخرج الصدري؟

تحدث متلازمة مخرج الصدر عندما يتم ضغط الأعصاب أو الأوعية الدموية (الأوردة والشرايين) على الذراع عند خروجها من الصدر ، وتجاوز الضلع الأول ويمر تحت عظمة الترقوة. بعض المرضى مناسبون للجراحة لخلق مساحة أكبر لهذه الهياكل. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك إزالة أضلاع (عنق الرحم) إضافية أو بدلاً من ذلك الضلع الأول. قد تتطلب الشرايين والأوردة المتضررة أيضًا إصلاحًا جراحيًا.

ما هو تقشير الدوالي؟

في حين تم استبدال الجراحة المفتوحة بإجراءات طفيفة التوغل ، إلا أنها تظل مناسبة لمرضى مختارين يعانون من الدوالي. تشمل الجراحة إزالة الأوردة المريضة مباشرة من الفخذ والساق من خلال الشقوق. غالبًا ما يتم وضع شق في الفخذ حيث يتم ربط الوريد قبل نزعه من الساق. يمكن أن يعاني المرضى من النزيف والألم المرتبط بالشقوق وهناك خطر الإصابة بالجروح. يحتاج المرضى عادة إلى فترة توقف عن العمل ويحتاجون إلى تجنب أي نشاط ثقيل أو شاق.

Open Vascular Surgery

Dr Freeman has extensive experience in performing open vascular surgery in appropriately selected patients. All surgical operations carry some risk however the information provided here is for general educational purposes only. Dr Freeman will discuss on an individual case by case basis whether open vascular surgery is appropriate to treat your specific condition and the risks involved.

What is carotid endarterectomy?

Some patients benefit from surgery to clean out the carotid artery in the neck (carotid endarterectomy) in order to prevent stroke. The decision to perform surgery is based on several factors including the degree of narrowing and whether the patient has had symptoms. Surgery on the carotid arteries does carry with it the risk of causing a stroke. This needs to be balanced against the risk of stroke without surgery which is particularly high in patients who have already suffered damage to the brain. Surgery also carries with it the risk of injury to the nerves that control the tongue, speech and swallowing. These nerves usually recover. There is also the risk of bleeding, especially given that patients need to continue aspirin around the time of surgery. Infection rarely occurs and in some patient’s blood pressure is difficult to control after surgery.

What is open surgical aneurysm repair?

In the past all aneurysms were repaired by open surgery through a large incision in the abdomen. This involves directly sewing a graft into the patient to replace the aneurysm. This carries with it risks. As with any surgery infection and blood clots can rarely occur. Patients receive medication to help prevent these complications. Stress is placed on the heart so heart attack can occur particularly in patients with heart problems. Damage can be done to the kidneys. Very rarely someone might not survive the procedure due to complications.

What is a bypass for peripheral arterial disease?

Surgery for peripheral arterial disease has traditionally involved an open vascular surgical bypass to restore flow beyond blocked arteries in the legs. A bypass is a major procedure. Careful consideration needs to be given in relation to the risks versus the benefits. There can be problems with infection, the wounds, developing blood clots, the heart and lungs and bypasses can themselves block especially in patients who continue to smoke.

What is an arteriovenous fistula?

Patients requiring long term haemodialysis are best served with an arteriovenous fistula. These are surgically created by joining an artery to a vein, usually at the wrist or the elbow. After the operation and over a period of 6 to 12 weeks the blood flow through the fistula increases to the point where there is enough flow to support haemodialysis. Once this is the case the fistula can be accessed with needles through the skin and into the vein. Blood is then taken to and from an artificial kidney.

What is thoracic outlet decompression?

Thoracic outlet syndrome occurs when the nerves or vessels (veins and arteries) to the arm are compressed as they come out of the chest, go over the first rib and pass under the collar bone. Some patients are suitable for surgery to create more room for these structures. This can involve removing extra (cervical) ribs or alternatively the first rib. Damaged arteries and veins may also require surgical repair.

What is varicose vein stripping?

While open surgery has largely been replaced by minimally invasive procedures, it remains appropriate for selected patients with varicose veins. Surgery involves directly removing diseased veins from the thigh and leg through incisions. Often an incision is placed in the groin where the vein is tied off before being stripped from the leg.  Patients can have bleeding, pain related to the incisions and there is a risk of wound infection. Patients normally require a period off work and need to avoid any heavy or strenuous activity.